Skip to Main Content

Wastewater Epidemiology Goals

Wastewater-based epidemiology should warn of emerging viral hotspots up to a week earlier than traditional tests, and give public health workers valuable time to mobilize. The program, however, will be important for additional and future public health concerns.

Wastewater Epidemiology Team Leaders

Poretsky Headshot

Rachel Poretsky

microbe@uic.edu


University of Illinois at Chicago: Associate Professor, Biological Sciences

Charlie Catlett 100x100 1

Charlie Catlett

ccatlett@uillinois.edu


Discovery Partners Institute: Senior Research Scientist

Packman Aaron

Aaron Packman

a-packman@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Owens Sarah 32078D11 0

Sarah Owens

sarah.owens@anl.gov


Argonne National Laboratory: Sequencing Laboratory Manager, Biosciences Division

Dorevitch

Sam Dorevitch

sdorevit@uic.edu


University of Illinois at Chicago: Associate Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences

Shrestha Abhilasha 600 365 348x342

Abhilasha Shrestha

ashres2@uic.edu


University of Illinois at Chicago: Research Assistant Professor, Environmental and Occupational Health Sciences

Wastewater Epidemiology Team Members

Abokifa

Ahmed Abokifa

abokifa@uic.edu


University of Illinois at Chicago, Assistant Professor; Civil, Materials, and Environmental Engineering

Members Feng 210x210 210x210

Shuchen Feng

shuchen.feng@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Postdoctoral Research Scientist

Screen Shot 2021 05 21 At 1.42.08 PM

Mark Grippo

mgrippo@anl.gov


Argonne National Laboratory: Ecologist, Environmental Science Division

Stop Sterilizing Your Dust Hartmann

Erica Hartmann

erica.hartmann@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Assistant Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

TMA 8771.jpg

Michael Jewett

m-jewett@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Katelynleismanheadshot2s

Katelyn Leisman

katelyn.leisman@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Visiting Assistant Professor, Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics

Lucks Julius

Julius Lucks

jblucks@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Associate Professor, Chemical and Biological Engineering

Mangan Niall

Niall Mangan

niall.mangan@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Assistant Professor, Engineering Sciences and Applied Mathematics

Mehrotra Sanjay

Sanjay Mehrotra

mehrotra@iems.northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Professor, Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences

Morton David

David Morton

david.morton@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Professor, Industrial Engineering and Management Sciences

C Negri 2019

Christina Negri

negri@anl.gov


Argonne National Laboratory: Director, Environmental Science Division

Anuj Pic

Anuj Tiwari

anujt@uic.edu


Discovery Partners Institute: Postdoctoral Research Scientist

Wells George

George Wells

george.wells@northwestern.edu


Northwestern University: Associate Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering

Screen Shot 2021 05 26 At 5.58.23 PM

Eugene Yan

eyan@anl.gov


Argonne National Laboratory: Earth Scientist, Environmental Science Division

Wastewater Epidemiology Team in the News

Illinois Department of Public Health and the Discovery Partners Institute Announce Statewide System to Monitor COVID-19 in Wastewater

IDPH

The Illinois Department of Public Health (IDPH) and the Discovery Partners Institute (DPI) today announced a statewide system to monitor the virus that causes COVID-19 and its variants in wastewater, providing public health officials with early warnings of a potential outbreak on a county-by-county basis.

NBC 5 Investigates: Searching The Sewers For COVID-19 at the Cook County Jail

NBC 5

“You know, I wanted to get as far out front of determining what the positivity rate was in the jail,” Cook County Sheriff Tom Dart told NBC5. “It’s just a proactive thing that I really wanted to do.”

The process is complex, but the premise is rather simple. After all, anyone infected with the virus sheds evidence of it in their waste…

Argonne scientists track community spread of COVID-19 in wastewater

Newswise

Wastewater provides a clue to virus transmission.

In the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, finding ways to improve testing has been key to addressing the spread of disease. While much effort has focused on testing individual people, scientists have begun to explore large-scale sampling of wastewater to understand patterns of viral transmission over larger areas.

Researchers from the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory are participating in a pilot study to sample wastewater at some of the Chicago area’s wastewater treatment plants…

Walder Foundation Awards Discovery Partners Institute $1.25 Million

DPI Press Release

The Walder Foundation has awarded a Discovery Partners Institute (DPI) science team led by the University of Illinois at Chicago (UIC) $1.25 million to develop a prototype capability for detecting COVID-19 outbreaks and trends in Chicago’s wastewater.

The goal of the Chicago Prototype Coronavirus Assessment Network Node, or PCANN, is to create a non-invasive, cost-effective way to examine community spread of the virus, by monitoring its initial appearance or changes over time in the city’s wastewater systems…